NAAJ 2017 Annual Meeting – Register NOW!

The 64th annual meeting of the North American Agricultural Journalists will be April 23-25 in Washington, D.C.

The meeting will be headquartered at The Cosmos Club. To reserve a room at the Cosmos Club, 2121 Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington, DC, call 202-387-7783. The room block is under North American Agricultural Journalists. The rates are $195 to $225.  Reservations were accepted through March 23, but you can try calling to see if there are any still available, if need be.

The NAAJ-Sonja Hillgren Scholarship and Writing Awards Banquet will be April 24 at the National Press Club.

Watch for updates here. Our organizers are lining up speakers as best they can while the new administration takes shape.

(Note: The Cosmos Club has a dress code. Male members and visitors must wear a coat and tie at all times except upon arrival. Women members and visitors are expected to dress accordingly.)

Sunday, April 23

11 a.m. – Meet at The Cosmos Club for transit to Mt. Vernon. (Tickets cost $20 at Mt. Vernon and $18 online. )

6:30 p.m. — Dinner at Farmers and Distillers, 600 Massachusetts Ave. N.W.  (pay your own)

Monday, April 24

Cosmos Club, Crentz Room

9 a.m. — Panel: Mary Kay Thatcher, senior director-congressional relations, American Farm Bureau Federation; Zach Clark, National Farmers Union.

10 a.m. — Ray Starling, the special assistant to President Trump for agriculture, trade and food assistance.

Cosmos Club, Old Dining Room

Noon – NAAJ business meeting, Ed White, president, presiding.

Cosmos Club, Crentz Room

1:30 p.m. — Robert Johansson, the USDA chief economist

U.S. Capitol

Confirmation floor debate and the vote for U.S. Secretary Agriculture


National Press Club, 529 14th Street NW

NAAJ-Sonja Hillgren Scholarship Benefit and Awards

5:30 p.m. – Cash‑bar reception and music by the “Second Amendments” band led by U.S. Rep. Collin Peterson, D‑Minn.

  • Invited, Sonny Perdue, following Senate vote as U.S. Agriculture Secretary.

7 p.m.– Dinner and awards

Tuesday, April 25

Dirksen Building, Room 562 

10 a.m. –  U.S. Sen. Pat  Roberts, R-Kansas

11 a.m. – U. S. Rep. Collin Peterson, D‑Minn.

11:30 a.m. – U. S. Rep. Michael Conaway, R‑Texas

Noon – U.S. Sen. Debbie Stabenow, D‑Mich.

North American Agricultural Journalists - Upcoming Events :
2016 Writing Contest Winners

2017 NAAJ Writing Contest

NAAJ 2017 Annual Meeting – Register NOW!

North American Agricultural Journalists - Award Spotlight

2016 Writing Contest Winners

The awards for 2016 articles will be presented April 24, 2017, at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. NEWS Judged by Patricia Klintberg,  a former Farm Journal writer and recipient of NAAJ’s Glenn Cunningham Award... More...