NAAJ-Sonja Hillgren Memorial Scholarship

The first NAAJ-Sonja Hillgren Memorial Scholarship was given to a journalism student at the University of Missouri in the fall 2010.

Created by NAAJ, the scholarship encourages high-caliber students to enter agricultural journalism and honors the life of Sonja Hillgren, a leader in the field as a reporter, editor and magazine executive. Hillgren passed away in December 2006 and work on the scholarship began in 2007. It was endowed in 2010.

For the first couple of years of its endowment, the scholarship was awarded to one student per year. Since 2012-13, the scholarship has been given to three students annually.

Hillgren was a sterling writer who simultaneously saw the big picture of farm policy and the practicalities of modern agriculture. She raised reporting standards through hard work, by being thorough, fair and objective in her work and expanding the realm of “farm reporting” to include diet, tax, trade and environmental policy. Although a formidable competitor, Sonja always was willing to share knowledge with colleagues. All of these are qualities the scholarship intends to propagate. With her designer wardrobe and a sparkling wit, Hillgren made agricultural journalism glamorous, whether as National Press Club president or visiting folks at the county fair.
NAAJ is grateful to Sonja for her role in modernizing the group, formerly the Newspaper Farm Editors of America, into a professional society with an international membership.

To give online, go to In the Gift Information box, select “Other,” enter the amount, then in the box put “NAAJ-Sonja Hillgren Memorial Scholarship.”

Or mail a check (payable to University of  Missouri School of Journalism) to University of  Missouri School of Journalism Development Office, 103 Neff Hall, Columbia, MO  65211. Put NAAJ-Sonja Hillgren Memorial Scholarship in the memo.

North American Agricultural Journalists - Upcoming Events :
2016 Writing Contest Winners

2017 NAAJ Writing Contest

NAAJ 2017 Annual Meeting – Register NOW!

North American Agricultural Journalists - Award Spotlight

2016 Writing Contest Winners

The awards for 2016 articles will be presented April 24, 2017, at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. NEWS Judged by Patricia Klintberg,  a former Farm Journal writer and recipient of NAAJ’s Glenn Cunningham Award... More...